Early Career Investigator Awards 2020

Published On: March 9th, 2020Categories: Programs & Services
Early Career Investigator Awards

Early Career Investigator Award 2020

Each year Alzheimer’s Los Angeles honors researchers early in their career. This award honors both the work they are currently doing and their potential to contribute significantly to the field in the future. The hope is that this award furthers their career as a researcher in the field.

Award recipients will each receive a $1,000 cash award

Call for Entries

Applications are being sought from graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and junior faculty affiliated with academic institutions in Los Angeles, Riverside, or San Bernardino Counties who are working in biomedical, clinical, or psychosocial research with a focus on Alzheimer’s or related dementias.

Awardees will be selected by the Alzheimer’s Los Angeles Medical and Scientific Advisory Council. Candidates may self-nominate or be nominated by a faculty member/mentor. Entries will be evaluated based on relevance, innovation, impact on the disease, and scientific rigor.

To apply, please submit the following documents, in this order, in a consolidated PDF file:

  • 400-word summary of current research activities

  • Written answers (2-5 sentences each) to the following questions:

    1. How does your research advance our ability to understand, manage or treat Alzheimer’s disease or related disorders?
    2. What is novel about your findings or the approach used?
    3. What steps have you taken to ensure that your data are solid and reliable?
    4. What exactly was your role in this project?
  • Letter of support from a mentor or academic advisor

  • Curriculum vitae, including a list of any publications

  • Reviewer recruitment list (names of 3 reviewers not from your institution, including their respective institution names, phone numbers, and email addresses)

  • One relevant manuscript (optional)

APPLICATION DEADLINE: The deadline to submit PDF applications is April 7, 2020

For more information about the award, contact Margarita Bermudez at
mbermudez@alzla.org,   323.930.6272

The 2020 awards were made possible through the generosity of Helena Chui, MD

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!